Monday, January 15, 2018

Interview with romance author V.C. Buckley

Romance author V.C. Buckley joins me today to chat about her new ‘new adult’ contemporary, Hanami.

During her virtual book tour, V.C. will be awarding a $10 Amazon or Barnes and Noble (winner’s choice) gift card to a lucky randomly drawn winner. To be entered for a chance to win, use the form below. To increase your chances of winning, feel free to visit her other tour stops and enter there, too!

Bio:
V.C. Buckley was born in an isolated government facility and shipped off to an Island in Southeast Asia where she grew up braving tropical thunderstorms and warding off evil villains. At sixteen she was discovered by an agent and jetted off all over the world. Her stories come from gritty moments of her childhood to the glitz of her travels. She now lives in Manila with her husband, two kids and an herb garden that has hijacked her balcony.

Welcome, V.C. Please share a little bit about your current release.
Hanami is the love story between SAKURA SHINTANI, an heir to Japan’s most notorious crime family, and KENJIN KIYOHARA, the son of Asia’s most influential tycoon. Their two worlds collide when Sakura is forced to attend an Heirs program in an exclusive institution for the world’s richest. There, she tries to get by under the radar, but fate had other plans as she is thrust into a world where she will have to look inside herself and pull the strength she needs to keep from seriously harming anyone.

What inspired you to write this book?
I was inspired by the idea of strong women living in a world of fools. The truth is, women aren’t weak. They can take care of themselves, and I wanted that embodied in a young person such as Sakura, a person who has no fear… even from death.

Excerpt from Hanami:
He snatched her backpack and swung it around his shoulder.

“Hey!” she protested, lunging for it.

Jin stepped aside, evading her grasp. He smiled to himself, taking long strides toward his car. He could hear her feet going after him.

Mr. Fujimaru was already by the car, holding the door open. His guards stood waiting like goons by the sidewalk.

“Look,” she said, grabbing his elbow before he could duck into his car, “I don’t care if you rescued me. I am not going with you! I don’t even know you!”

Her words cut right through him.

She lunged for her bag again, but Jin threw it into the farthest corner of the back seat.

He looked at her tilting his head down, their height difference apparent. He thought about what she said.

She doesn’t know me? His forehead creased. Was he really that invisible to her? He felt like someone had just slapped him across the face. He took one long look at her before ducking into his car.

He was confused. Any girl would jump at the chance to be with him—she should have been honored and groveling at his feet for rescuing her! What was wrong with her?

He felt her slide into the seat next to him, her knees slightly touching the side of his thigh. But before he could think, she reached across him, leaning her upper body against his lap to grab her bag. Jin froze.

She straightened back up, clutching her bag to her chest. Her eyes met his with a piercing glare, and a wave of heat suddenly swept over him.

Jin looked away, landing his gaze on her reflection on the car door window. Even with an angry face, she still looked so beautiful.

Jin smiled, tilting his head to the side to get a better look. I should stop this, he told himself, but it was too late. She was too interesting to be left alone.

What exciting story are you working on next?
I am rounding out the third and final sequel to Hanami. Fans of Sakura and Jin have been asking me for the release date, but all I can tell you is that book two will be released next year (2018). I am very excited because so much has happened since the first book, and the fans of this story will be treated to more exciting moments between the two, along with a few surprises.

When did you first consider yourself a writer?
The moment I completed my very first book, I considered myself a writer. I was probably around seven years old. I used to write fairy tales and made small illustrations along with them. As I got older, I found interest in writing clean romance with strong heroines and daring heroes. I dabbled a bit in all genres, including Young adult, paranormal, fantasy, sci-fi and historical, but one theme remained throughout and that was the romance between strong women and the men that deserved them. Hanami is my debut novel though, and it’s a contemporary new adult romance.

Do you write full-time? If so, what's your work day like? If not, what do you do other than write and how do you find time to write?
Aside from being a wife and mother of two, I write full time. It has become my passion and I am excited to see how many books I can show to the world. When I’m not writing, I practice different disciplines of Martial Arts, specifically with a focus on weapons. I am currently engrossed with Kendo, the ancient art of Japanese sword fighting, and I am also in training for an international competition in China for the Tai Chi sword forms. As for time… I just find the time. When there’s a will, there’s a way!

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?
I handwrite all my first drafts! This is a method I am used to and I think better scribbling away on paper rather than pressing on a keyboard. Also, my mind tells the story to fast, and I can only catch up with it when I write it down.

As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?
I wanted to be many things, and I even dared to try and become those things.

I wanted to be a doctor, so I became a pre-med student in college.

I wanted to dabble in the fashion industry, so I became a model at the age of sixteen and travelled all over the world doing fashion week and shooting for big names and powerhouse brands.

I wanted to be a Chef, so I enrolled into culinary and graduated with honors. I opened a restaurant and did that for many years.

I wanted to be many things, and I became many things, but one thing remained: it was Writing. The story telling never stopped. So despite all the achievements, deep in my heart, I knew I wanted to be a writer. It was the one constant thing from beginning to end. It was just a matter of letting other people read my work, because I wrote only for my own enjoyment, but now, I wanted to see how far I can take this. Ultimately, we all want to do things that will be a lasting legacy… To leave our mark in this world, to show that we had lived... That we truly existed, and we made good use of our time.

Links:

YouTube (book trailer)

Thank you for being a guest on my blog!


a Rafflecopter giveaway


5 comments:

Goddess Fish Promotions said...

Thanks for hosting!

Lisa Brown said...

I enjoyed reading about your story; congrats on the tour and thanks for the chance to win :)

Nikolina Vukelic said...

I really enjoyed reading your interview, thank you!

Victoria Alexander said...

Great post - thanks for sharing!

Joseph Wallace said...

What book would you like to see made into a feature film? Thanks for the giveaway. I hope that I win. Bernie Wallace BWallace1980(at)hotmail(dot)com